Coconut Lime Macaroons

I’ve never made coconut macaroons before but anything with coconut is a favorite of my mother’s and so for mother’s day I started reading recipes. As I read I discovered two camps of recipes, those with sweetened condensed milk, and those with sugar and more egg whites. Now my mother is also not one for food indulgences and avoids sugar at all times if possible. At the same time though, I figure if you’re going to break your own rule, it better be delicious so there was nothing else for it than an experiment.

What I found really surprised me. In my opinion a coconut macaroon should be just slightly crispy on the outside, which a few stray golden coconut tips, and gooey and sweet in the middle.  The sweetened condensed milk seemed like the fastest way to sweet and gooey but I tried the sugar and egg whites way as well and was shocked how much better I liked them. Last minute I tasted the eggy batter and couldn’t help but supplement with just a touch of condensed milk, to ensure premium gooeyness, and would recommend just a bit less sugar in the trade but what I ended up with were beautifully disheveled little haystacks that were moist, fluffy, crispy and wonderfully limey, which I think cuts through the sweetness just right. My best recipe follows
Coconut Lime Macaroons

INGREDIENTS

2 egg whites
1/4 cup sugar
3 cups sweetened coconut
1 1/2 tsp lime zest
1tbsp + a bit extra lime juice (juice from half a lime)
1/3c sweetened condensed milk
pinch of salt
1/2 tsp vanilla

DIRECTIONS

Whisk eggs and sugar until ‘stiff but not dry’ i wouldn’t call it quite stiff, but there you have it
add lime zest lime juice, coconut salt and vanilla and mix. add sweetened condensed milk, enough to make the mixture ‘gooey’
drop in spoonfulls on baking sheet lined with parchment paper
bake at 325 for 25 minutes or until tips turn dark golden.

I drizzled some dark chocolate over mine after they’d cooled completely.  I liked the added touch of flavor again to cut through the intense sweetness of the coconut and condensed milk, but I won’t lie, it was primarily for looks.

Leave a Reply

