Figs in Sweet Balsamic Reduction

I’ve reached that point in fig season where I’m pretty sure I’d put figs on any dish, for any meal, and be fairly confident I’d have a winner. I’m not a big fan of really sweet desserts which is why figs just do it for me.  I also love unexpected and borderline savory ingredients in desserts. Add balsamic to ice cream? you betcha! This quick, easy reduction is a beautiful and dramatic way to dress up simple ice cream for a last minute dessert that’s classy and so so flavorful!

½ cup balsamic vinegar, full bodied red wine (such as Cabernet and Multepucciano, honestly I used whatever I had open) or combination of the two.
1 tsp ground cardamom
½ tsp ground cinnamon
1tbsp honey
9-10 figs, halved

In a saucepan over low heat dissolve the honey in the vinegar ,wine and spices. Add the figs, cut side down, and simmer until the liquid has thickened a bit, about 10 minutes. The sauce will continue to thicken as it cools. Serve when just warm over vanilla ice cream.

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

