Pomegranate Compote served with vanilla ice cream

When two pomegranates showed up in my CSA box I was a little ecstatic. My mother, who raised me well on CSA produce in the northwest was floored that pomegranates could be considered local produce…even for LA. Getting to remind her that Southern California actually does have some positive attributes sometimes has become a bit of a pride point for me. Which is why i reveled in the ability to bring my pomegranates up north with me when I wasn’t able to use them before flying out for the thanksgiving holiday.
I still didn’t have a plan but was loathe to see them go to waste. Then sitting in my mother’s desert kitchen one afternoon I spied an old jam jar in a drawer of recycled bottles and containers. You know what would look really great served in that jam jar? I mused to my mother; a really messy ice cream dessert.
The pomegranates! My fig compote had turned out so well I had to try. I managed to find a few simple ingredients around the kitchen and whip up this sauce. It was delicious, it provided a great (if messy) photo opportunity and my family loved it! An excellent and easy way to dress up a scoop of vanilla ice cream.

INGREDIENTS
seeds from two medium pomegranates
1 Tbsp orange zest
2 Tbsp orange juice
about 1/4 cup sugar (some can be substituted for honey, I used about half and half)
about 1/4 cup water (depending on sugar and desired thickness)
2 tbsp balsamic vinegar

Seed the pomegranates. to avoid making a mess you can cut each one into large wedges and break apart submerged in a large bowl of water. The rind will float to the top and the seeds. then you can scoop the bits of rind off the top and strain out the seeds. combine all ingredients in a saucepan and simmer over low heat, stirring occasionally (but keep an good eye on consistency) for 20-30 minutes. the longer the compote simmers the softer the seeds will get and the more intense the flavors will be. you can continue to add sugar and/water to thin or thicken as necessary.
Let cool a bit before spooning over ice cream. Keep in mind as the compote cools it will continue to thicken a bit.

One thought on “Pomegranate Compote served with vanilla ice cream

Leave a Reply

