Rosemary Olive Oil Cake

rosemary cake with lemon glaze
I’m always a sucker for the odd ingredient combo, savory desserts or sweet side dishes, so the idea of a rosemary olive oil cake definitely attracted me. I hardly ever make cakes, but I had some extra rosemary from my CSA box and decided to give this one from Mario Batali a whirl. My Mario Batali dutch oven has never steered me wrong, so should be a go, right? Right.

tools for cake baking

INGREDIENTS
4 eggs
¾ cup sugar
2/3 cup extra-virgin olive oil
2 Tbsp fresh rosemary, finely chopped
1½ cups flour
1 Tbsp baking powder
½ tsp salt

DIRECTIONS
Preheat the oven to 325 and oil the inside of an 8-inch cake pan.
Beat the eggs with the paddle attachment of an electric mixer. Add the sugar and continue to beat until pale in color and light and foamy.
With the mixer running, drizzle the olive oil into the eggs. Then fold the rosemary in with a spatula.
Whisk the flour, baking powder and salt together in a separate bowl and add to the mixer bowl slowly. Pour batter into your cake pan and bake for 45-50 minutes, rotating halfway through for even color
The cake is done when a toothpick comes out clean and the cake springs back when poked.

By the time my cake sprung back when poked and past the toothpick test it turned out much drier than I expected. So the next morning I made a simple lemon glaze I found from another rosemary olive oil cake recipe, skewered my dry cake several times and poured the glaze liberally over the whole thing. It didn’t quite fix the dryness but I did very much like the addition of the glaze.

Images are shown with whipped plain Greek yogurt with a bit of sugar and vanilla added. Also a good fix for dry cake!

Lemon Glaze
1 cup fresh lemon juice
1 ¼ cups powdered sugar

Combine sugar and lemon juice in a saucepan over medium heat and stir until smooth. Let mixture cool slightly and pour over cooled cake.

slice of olive oil cake with yogurt sauce

Leave a Reply

