Peanut Butter + Cherry Feel Good Cookies

These are very similar to the Healthier cookies I made a couple of weeks ago so I will keep this short, but I wanted to take the idea one itty bitty step further. I’m moving extremely slowly toward ‘healthy’ sweets and gluten free baking, but it’s a tough road and you’ll have to bear with me as I put one foot ever-so-slightly in front of the other.

The other reason I wanted to include these butter free, whole wheat cookies is because I packaged them and sent them down to Texas to meet my newly relocated grandparents. After fifty years in a sleepy, but extremely friendly northern Texas town they’re children, my mother and uncle helped them move to the big city to be closer to my uncle in Dallas. My grandparents really aren’t Dallas people. In fact, they were such an institution in their town that the county newspaper wrote an article about their leaving and reflecting on their impact on the local community.
To welcome them to their new home in the big city I wanted to send them some comforting snacks, but something that would make them feel good too, and I thought these Peanut Butter and Cherry just-a-bit-healthier cookies would do the trick.

PB+Cherry Feel Good Cookies
Adapted from: Passtheplateblog

INGREDIENTS
½ c. Peanut Butter (smooth or chunky)
½ c. white sugar
½ c. brown sugar
¼ c. cinnamon apple sauce (regular works too)
1 egg
1 tsp vanilla
¾ c whole wheat flour
¼ c. cup almond flour (use more whole wheat if you don’t have any almond available)
1 tsp baking powder
½ tsp baking soda
½ tsp salt
Couple dashes cinnamon
1 ½ c. quick cooking oats
1 c. dried cranberries (dried tart cherries would also work well)

DIRECTIONS
NB: I mixed these by hand, I think I was having a “cooking honesty” moment. But there’s no reason you couldn’t use a stand mixer.

Preheat the oven to 375F
In a large bowl beat the peanut butter, sugars, applesauce, egg and vanilla until smooth.
In a separate bowl whisk the flours, baking powder, baking soda, salt and cinnamon.
Add the flour mixture and oats to the peanut butter in a few chunks until just combined. Sprinkle cranberries over and briefly mix once more.

Drop about tablespoon sized cookies on a parchment paper or silpat lined baking sheet. And bake for 10-12 minutes. Let cool for a few minutes before moving to a cooling rack. Otherwise you run the risk of moving structurally unstable cookies and they will just fall apart in your hands. I think the whole wheat flour and PB makes this a bit more of a concern than normal cookies but please, let me be the one to make this sort of impatient move and confirm that there is a reason people tell you to leave the cookies on the sheet!

Leave a Reply

