Oatmeal: Breakfast of Champions

Living the life of a student again has done several things to my day-to-day consciousness:
It’s reminded me that homework is only a charming collegiate fantasy when you don’t have any.
I’m now a firm believer that masters degrees should be given out simply for successful time management.
Constant demand on creative capacities puts a giant damper on my excessive creative juices, not to mention energy with which to peruse the internet, concoct new kitchen experiments, or even barely cook for myself, much less photograph and write about all these things (if only I could turn this particular hobby into a lucrative one).
Free time has become a fantastical myth read about only in beach-fiction (of which I have no free time to read)

Spending weekends at home in front of my drafting table, though, has encouraged me to fall back on some quick home cooking, particularly weekend breakfasts. Now for someone who waits the entire week for the Saturday morning stroll up to the coffee shop, to sit with my laptop or a book, and enjoy the company of strangers for hours, this is a huge sacrifice. But I pulled the canister of old-style oats out of the cupboard (unused other than for chocolate chip cookies for years) and whipped up some Saturday morning breakfast brain food. The grilled peaches came out so well that I had to pull together my photo backdrop, reflectors, and some pretty serving pieces to snap some shots before getting back to work.

This really isn’t a recipe so much as a preparation of ingredients (and my wanting to share the few photos I’ve managed to snap in the last month) and a reminder to eat your oatmeal! While it’s not a luxurious late morning with a latte, my brain is definitely appreciative of the break from the coffee and biscotti diet.

DIRECTIONS
(if you need them)
1. Cook oatmeal to package instructions. I use a bit of milk if I have it, a liberal sprinkling of brown sugar and a dash of vanilla. Just to keep things interesting.
2. Cut a peach in half, drizzle with a bit of oil and more brown sugar and lay, cut side down, on a skillet (or grilling pan if you’ve got one. Makes for lovely grill marks) at med-high heat for maybe 3 minutes until sugar begins to caramelize and the edges brown.
3. Combine. Eat. Enjoy. Get back to work.

5 thoughts on “Oatmeal: Breakfast of Champions

  1. Robin says:

    I love oatmeal but will have to try out the grilled peach next time. Good luck on your studies!

  2. I agree masters should be given out for effective time management! This is clearly nutritious brain food unlike my jar of m&m’s i use for sustenance while writing papers

  3. You actually can grow a variety of different types of plants in being an organic garden.

    Your trees can provide natural cooling by shading your
    house.

  4. Hi there, just became alert to your blog through Google, and found that it is really
    informative. I am gonna watch out for brussels. I will be grateful
    if you continue this in future. Many people will be benefited from your writing.
    Cheers!

Leave a Reply

