Some Shockingly Pink Hummus


Hey remember that post back in…august or september, where I complained for awhile about how little time I have to post new recipes and photographs? Turns out quarter two of my new life as a full time employee/pretty much full time student hasn’t proven to be much different than the first. I have, however, managed to squeeze a few notable life changes into the last few months, making them feel like the last few years.
I went to Brazil! As referenced in the short, sweet, expose on Brazilian coffee in the last post. I’m still talking about it because Brazil was at the top of my geographical bucket list and to be perfectly honest I do consider myself a slightly different person now that I’ve seen it.
Also I moved! Over an excruciating October of apartment searches, lease signings, roommate finding, packing, loading, driving, unloading, unpacking I have left the haven that was my old Spanish apartment in Long Beach for a very modern (but lovely, really) unit in West LA. It was a marathon, but the absolute best part of the new place are the floor to ceiling windows that wrap around the living/dining nook across from the kitchen. I’m ecstatic to try some shots in a natural light-flooded space, so with any luck (maybe holiday cookies???) I’ll post new photos soon!

In the meantime, I’ve been sitting on these bright pink photos for much too long waiting for a chance to post. A friend of mine (and new neighbor now! So excited, Missy!) and fellow football fan made beet hummus for one Sunday game and I couldn’t stop thinking about it for days, had to try it myself. It’s about as easy as you can get. Steam or roast the beets before hand, and then blend them right on in to your standard hummus recipe! I never measure my hummus ingredients anyway so season to taste and you’re done! A slightly more finite recipe follows.

I love this colorful and flavorful hummus idea. It’s a great gluten-free snack option. It’s great on any veggies and I even dolloped some squash soup with it for a hot/cold color shock in some orange soup!
Next I’m thinking maybe avocado hummus? If you have a favorite hummus flavor or suggestion let me know!

Shockingly Pink Beet Hummus
INGREDIENTS
3-4 medium beets (about 1-1½ cups cooked)
1 can chickpeas
1-2 cloves garlic
3 Tbsp Tahini
3 Tbsp Olive Oil (depending how much you like/want oil. You could use as little as 2 probably, and some recipes suggest ¼ c. for me it really has to do with consistency. I start with a little less, and then add right at the end if I want to thin out the hummus without watering it down)
1-2 tsp cumin

DIRECTIONS
Peel and cut your beets in to medium chunks and either boil until tender or toss in some olive oil, salt and pepper and roast in a 415 degree oven for about 20 minutes. I love roast veggies and made some extra so this is what I did.
In a food processor pulse the chickpeas and beets with at least some olive oil and tahini to start for lubrication. The beats will also add a good amount of moisture. Add the garlic, cumin, salt, pepper to taste and more oil, tahini, or lemon juice if you prefer, until you have the right taste and consistency.
Note that the flavors will meld when you chill the hummus in the fridge (at least 20-30 minutes is best) and it will also thicken as it cools. So if your warm hummus is a bit runny that’s totally normal.

Leave a Reply

