Spicy Spinach and Yogurt Dip

Spicy Spinach Yogurt dip
Superbowl snacking becomes a lot less fun when you’re avoiding gluten and anything fried. So I was determined to find something delicious when one of the dozen emails Food&Wine has sent me this week promised healthy Game Day recipes.
I adapted this recipe from them, Food&Wine has yet to steer me wrong, but I did tweak the proportions. I’ve detailed changes below but I like my yogurt dip fairly yogurty, Food&Wine, apparently, does not. I also tweaked the spice levels and used a brand new bottle of cayenne. Maybe I just haven’t had fresh cayenne for too long, but this dip packs a surprising punch.

INGREDIENTS
2 Tbsp EVOO
1/3 c. pine nuts
½ small-medium sweet yellow onion, minced
1 tsp. cumin
½ tsp coriander
½ tsp cayenne
10 oz frozen spinach, thawed
1½ c. plain greek yogurt
salt to taste.

DIRECTIONS
Sauté onion and pine nuts in the olive oil until the just start to brown, 4-5 minutes. Add spices and stir well. Remove to a medium-mixing bowl.
Squeeze as much water out of the spinach as you can. Don’t worry about the volume, it won’t look like much, but it’s really quite dense. Add to the onions and pine nuts.
My recipe said to drain the yogurt until you end up with about ½ cup. While I drained it, the volume definitely didn’t decrease that much. And in the end I added much more until the proportions felt better to me. My suggestion is to use about 1½ cups yogurt, straight from the fridge. Add the yogurt and mix well. The spinach may be rather stubborn so make sure to disperse large lumps.
Sprinkle with salt and unless serving immediately let sit for at least an hour or two before tasting for salt again. This is a great dip to make ahead of time, say, the day before the super bowl leaving your Game Day morning one-item lighter, and allowing your free hand to crack open an early beer (you know you want to).

One thought on “Spicy Spinach and Yogurt Dip

  1. vinicooksveg says:

    That looks a good, quick and healthy dip! Loved it!

Leave a Reply

