Paleo Banana Bread

Paleo Banana Bread

I’ve been cutting a lot more grains out of my diet recently. All grains, to some extent, are hard to digest and I just feel better when I don’t eat them. Trying to dodge around diet restrictions, making gluten free cookies or ordering gluten free pancakes for brunch increasing feels like a thinly veiled lie to myself that I can bake a cake and eat it too…so to speak.
One type of flour that I—at least up to this point—seem to have no trouble with though is almond flour, which apparently lends itself beautifully to sweet breads. I found several recipes for zucchini breads, banana breads, pumpkin breads, etc. and the best part is how simple they are. You don’t have to mix 3 different kinds of flours (usually at least two of which I’m not supposed to eat anyway) along with xanthum gum (which just makes me feel like I’m running an elaborate science experiment) to concoct something that really does need gluten to give it the familiar consistency you crave. Loafs should be heavy and moist, and therefore can rely on ingredients other than gluten for structural stability. Almonds also make a flour with a mild flavor but one that compliments most breads.
This banana bread isn’t very sweet at all, which makes it a great on the go breakfast option, but can also be toasted and slathered in honey and almond butter, which is my go to for a healthier dessert.

INGREDIENTS
3 bananas
3 eggs
1 Tbsp. vanilla extract
2 Tbsp. honey
¼ c. coconut oil
2 c. almond flour
½ tsp salt
1 tsp baking soda

DIRECTIONS
– Preheat oven to 350°f
– Blend bananas, eggs, vanilla, honey and shortening in a kitchenaid or food processor.
– Add almond flour, salt and baking soda and mix until well combined
– Pour batter into greased loaf pan (use 7½” x 3½” or similar for taller, loaf-life slices)
– Bake at 350 for 55-65 minutes.

Leave a Reply

